CSS make Move

• BRAZIL-IANT band CSS release the latest track from their superb album Donkey on October 13.
The infectious Move is a shining example of the South American group’s goodtime indie electro pop sound.
CSS, full name Cansei De Ser Sexy, will also be playing a date at Nottingham’s Rescue Rooms on the day of the release.
• Musical melting pot Thievery Corporation have released a new album, Radio Retaliation.
The dance duo’s fifth LP features collaborations with rappers Sleepy Wonder and Notch, Afrobeat artist Femi Kuti, Brazilian singer Seu Jorge, Indian sitar player Anushka Shankar and American Chuck Brown.
• Rockers Primal Scream have released a new single.
Uptown, which features a reworking by sought-after producer Calvin Harris, is the latest cut to be lifted from the group’s latest album, Beautiful Future.
• All hail The Loose Salute, who have a debut single in the form of the dishevelled Why’d We Fight out on October 13.
The emotive country track is a break for the band, who put out a poppy debut LP, Tuned To Love, earlier this year.
• The first of a two part collection of Benin-based band Orchestre Poly-Rhythmo De Cotonou’s ’70s afro-funk recordings is being released later this month.
The compilation features tracks recorded by the group in secret for small independent African record labels while contracted to larger label Albarika Store.
• Honeysuckle Weeks, the second album by The Submarines, is released on October 20.
The eclectic electro group, who are currently soundtracking the Apple iPhone 3G adverts, will also be playing a handful of UK tour dates throughout the month.
• The Rifles are hoping to shoot up the charts with a new single, Great Escape.
Released on November 3, the track is the first from the rock group’s second album, Pavement Diaries.
• Mancunian maelstrom The Vortex release a new single, Dirty Soul, on October 6.
A mixture of indie and electronica influences, the single is a clear nod to Manchester’s musical heritage.
• Ashby-de-la-Zouch’s finest three-piece The Young Knives have revealed the working title of their third album as Royal Sunlight.
They are currently writing for the LP, the follow up to this year’s excellent effort Superabundance.
• If all of this is music to your ears, you can read more from the pop world online at http://www.echoisaacashe.blogspot.com/.

A wail of a time with Primal Scream

• HERE’S something to shout about – Primal Scream are back with a brand new album, Beautiful Future.
The album, which contains the single Can’t Go Back, hits the shelves on July 21, and features collaborations with CSS’s Lovefoxxx, Queens Of The Stone Age’s Josh Homme and folk singer Linda Thompson.
• Don’t let Nine Inch Nail’s new album, The Slip, slip past you.
The physical CD is available in shops from July 28, but you can also download the entire album – which is a real belter – free of charge from their website, http://www.nineinchnails.com
• James Yorkston’s fourth studio album, When The Haar Rolls In, is released on September 1.
The album is another stunning collectiom of lush, beautifully crafted songwriting from the criminally-underrated Yorkston.
• Iconic singer Chaka Khan is back with her first new album in a decade, Funk This.
The funking brilliant album, out on August 25, is preceeded by the single Disrespectful, a duet with Mary J Blige.
• Wish you were hear? German contemporary classical composer Max Richter has a new album, 24 Postcards In Full Colour.
• Pivot’s new album, O Soundtrack My Heart, is out on August 18.
For more information on the eclectic electro indie band, and to grab a free track, log on to http://www.pivotpivot.net
• An album of Biblical proportions is set to be released by Noah And The Whale on August 11.
The fin-tastic LP, titled Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down, features the forthcoming single 5 Years Time.
• Drum and bass pioneers Pendulum have a new single out on July 28.
The Other Side is the latest to be taken from the earth-shattering album In Silico.
• Producer Quantic – real name Will Holland – has a new album out.
Flowering Inferno, Death Of The Revolution, is a laid back pairing of hip hop beats and Cuban music.
• Nu-metal’s finest Linkin Park have released their new track, Leave Out All the Rest.
An epic ballad, the track is likely to put the band in the charts on two tracks at once – as the band also feature on Busta Rhymes’s We Made It.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe’s Sound Advice for more from the pop world.

Best seller Estelle

• CHART-topping soul sensation Estelle has followed up the Kanye West, Will.i.am collaboration American Boy with a new single No Substitute Love.
The single is taken from her debut album Shine, which includes work with Swizz Beats, Will.i.am, Cee Lo, Kanye West and John Legend.
• Legendary indie experimentalists Primal Scream are back with a new sound and a new album, Beautiful Future, featuring work with Lovefoxxx, Josh Homme and Linda Thompson.
You can hear their new sound from July 14 when new single, Can’t Go Back Out, hits the shelves.
• Dreamy singer songwriter James Blunt is again tugging on the heart strings with a new single I Really Want You.
The track is taken from his album All The Lost Souls, and will be among tracks played on tour around the UK this October.
• Fresh from a top three finish in Hell’s Kitchen, Paul Young is again set to bother the charts with a 25th anniversary edition of his number one album No Parlez.
The popstar’s classic album features tracks such as Wherever I Lay My Hat, Iron Out The Rough Spots and Love Will Tear Us Apart.
• The folk and pop fusion of Sidewinder is set to hit the shops in the form of single Shooting Stars.
The song about a rescue dog is taken from Shooting Stars’ forthcoming eponymous debut album.
• Chester-born reggae sensation Ava Leigh is releasing a new single Mad About The Boy this month.
The hotly-tipped single, described as “bottled Summer”, is taken from her as-yet untitled debut album, expected later this year.
• Hook-laden rockers Cute Is What We Aim For have released a new single, Practice Makes Perfect, and a new album, Rotation.
The new output is the follow-up to 2006’s critically-acclaimed The Same Old Blood Rush With A New Touch.
• Four-piece avant-pop band Pope Joan are releasing their debut album, Hot Water, Lines And Rickety Machines later this year.
The debut LP from the Brighton-based band mixes angular rock in the vein if The Futureheads with unashamedly poppy sensibilities.
• Stepping out of the shadows of support slots with the likes of Sam Sparro, The Cribs and One Nigt Only, four-piece Sukie are set for the big time with their new single Pink-A-Pade.
The track, already in shops, is a Kinks-esque stomper of a track.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe’s Sound Advice for more from the pop world.