Get Get The Blessing

• JAZZ pioneers Get The Blessing have scooped the prestigious Best Album award at the 2008 BBC Jazz Awards.
The album, All Is Yes, by the group, formed by former Portishead members Clive Deamer and Jim Barr, is an exciting, energetic post-jazz mix of riff-based saxophone grooves and rock influences.
• Stump up for Cut Off Your Hands’ debut single, Expectations.
The indie pop single, released on August 18, and produced by former Suede axeman Bernard Butler, is the first to come from the forthcoming album You And I.
• Eighties pop sensation Hue And Cry are to release a new album on September 8, following a 16 year absence from the charts.
As well as the Scottish brother’s usual crafted fare, the album also features a cover of Beyonce’s hit Crazy In Love.
• Alaskan metal band Avenged Sevenfold have released a new song, Dear God.
The track, taken from their self-titled fourth album, sees a dark country twang added to their furious metal oeuvre.
• High flying pop group The B-52s have a new single out on July 21.
Juliet Of The Spirits, taken from their current album Funplex, is backed up by live cuts of favourites Roam and Rock Lobster.
• Mark Ruebery will release a new album, Because Of You, on August 18.
The singer’s debut, which features current single It Goes Around And Comes Around, is a heartfelt mixture of classic anthemic rock and ballad showcasing Mark’s rich vocal tones.
• Silky-voiced singer and musical experimentalist Milosh releases his third album, iii, on August 25.
The Canadian, who has been compared to everyone from Radiohead to D’Angelo, makes music that mashes the boundaries between soul, classical, electronica, jazz and the traditional singer-songwriter.
• X-Factor’s finest Maria Lawson is back with a new single, taken from her second album Emotional Rollercoaster.
Breaking Me Down is a soulful pop track that showcases Maria’s vocal abilities.
• The bittersweet Sugar Mouse is the new single from folk pop duo Oh, Atoms.
The track, out on September 22 but available online from mid-August, also features in the new film Angus Thongs And Perfect Snogging.
• Leftfield guitar pop group Flipron release a double A-side single, Book Of Lies/Mess It Up, on September 15.
Both tracks will also feature on the band’s third album, Gravity Calling, which is out in October.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe’s Sound Advice for more from the pop world.