Little Boots a polished act

• KICKING off her campaign for superstardom this week is Little Boots.
The hotly-tipped electropop star, real name Victoria Hesketh, put out her shimmering debut album Hands, which features the single New In Town, this Monday.
• Pucker up – I Kissed A Girl star Katy Perry is back with a new single.
Waking Up In Vegas, the latest track to be taken from her album One Of The Boys, was released this week.
• Icelandic post-rockers Sigur Ros’s rare debut album Von was re-released this week.
The band’s album, orginally released in 1997 in Iceland, is now available to buy.
• VV Brown, an indie pop singer songwriter who has been tipped for the top, has released a new single.
Monday saw the release of VV’s third single, Shark In The Water, ahead of her album Travelling Like The Light.
• Singer Pixie Lott released her debut single Mama Do on June 8.
Pixie will also be appearing nationwide in support of The Saturdays, including gigs at De Montfort Hall in Leicester and Nottingham’s Concert Hall.
• Soul icon Chaka Khan has a new single out this week.
For the track Disrespectful, taken from her album Funk This, Chaka has teamed up with singer Mary J Blige.
• Orchestral pop outfit The Mummers’ new album is out now.
Tale To Tell is the first output by The Mummers, the guise of singer Raissa Khan-Panni.
• Spanish band Bastila have released a self-titled album.
Bastila was released in the UK on June 1.
• One sure to spread quickly is The Airborne Toxic Event’s new EP.
Happiness Is Overrated, the guitar group’s follow-up to their self-titled album, was released this week.
• Cool cats know that Cougar are a band to watch.
The group, who blur the lines between metal and electronica, release a double A-side of Rhinelander/Thundersnow this week.
• If all of this is music to your ears, you can read more from the pop world online at

A wail of a time with Primal Scream

• HERE’S something to shout about – Primal Scream are back with a brand new album, Beautiful Future.
The album, which contains the single Can’t Go Back, hits the shelves on July 21, and features collaborations with CSS’s Lovefoxxx, Queens Of The Stone Age’s Josh Homme and folk singer Linda Thompson.
• Don’t let Nine Inch Nail’s new album, The Slip, slip past you.
The physical CD is available in shops from July 28, but you can also download the entire album – which is a real belter – free of charge from their website,
• James Yorkston’s fourth studio album, When The Haar Rolls In, is released on September 1.
The album is another stunning collectiom of lush, beautifully crafted songwriting from the criminally-underrated Yorkston.
• Iconic singer Chaka Khan is back with her first new album in a decade, Funk This.
The funking brilliant album, out on August 25, is preceeded by the single Disrespectful, a duet with Mary J Blige.
• Wish you were hear? German contemporary classical composer Max Richter has a new album, 24 Postcards In Full Colour.
• Pivot’s new album, O Soundtrack My Heart, is out on August 18.
For more information on the eclectic electro indie band, and to grab a free track, log on to
• An album of Biblical proportions is set to be released by Noah And The Whale on August 11.
The fin-tastic LP, titled Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down, features the forthcoming single 5 Years Time.
• Drum and bass pioneers Pendulum have a new single out on July 28.
The Other Side is the latest to be taken from the earth-shattering album In Silico.
• Producer Quantic – real name Will Holland – has a new album out.
Flowering Inferno, Death Of The Revolution, is a laid back pairing of hip hop beats and Cuban music.
• Nu-metal’s finest Linkin Park have released their new track, Leave Out All the Rest.
An epic ballad, the track is likely to put the band in the charts on two tracks at once – as the band also feature on Busta Rhymes’s We Made It.
• If all of this is music to your ears, log on to Isaac Ashe’s Sound Advice for more from the pop world.